Nevada County Surveillance District final map to be adopted Tuesday, kicks off election season countdown – YubaNet


Next Tuesday, at the last Board of Supervisors (BOS) meeting of 2021, the final Nevada County Supervisory District Map is expected to be adopted. Based on the 2020 census data, some minor changes will occur to reflect population growth and the public’s contribution. The Nevada County Redistricting Advisory Council held public hearings and workshops, received feedback from residents via the redistribution site and presented options to the BOS. Supervisors will hear a final presentation and vote on the final card at 10:30 a.m. on Tuesday, December 14, 2021.

Current and new map of BOS district. Move the cursor to see the differences

Nevada County’s population has grown slightly over the past ten years, to a total of 102,284. The new map places most of North Bloomfield and Rock Creek Rd, the areas of Highway 20 in District 1. All Cascade Shores, Banner Quaker in District 1. Mount Olive moved to District 1. Expands the north end of District 2 to include Welsh Ln and LaBarr Meadows. Moves the southwest part of District 3 to District 4. Moves Alison Ranch areas to District 3, Bitney Corner area to District 4, and Loma Rica to District 3.

Adoption of the card kicks off the countdown to election season

Once the final map has been adopted by the BOS, the earliest date on which candidates for local office could file their petition in lieu of fees would be January 12, 2022. According to section 21501 of the Election Code, “the required forms… do will not be available until at least 28 days after the adoption of a definitive card.

The deadline for filing is March 11, 2022 and the primary elections will be held on June 7, 2022.

Non-partisan county offices will be elected in 2022

Supervisor of Nevada County, District 3 (Dan Miller, incumbent)
Nevada County Supervisor, District 4 (Sue Hoek, incumbent)
Nevada County Assessor (Sue Horne, incumbent)
Nevada County Auditor-Comptroller (Marcia Salter, incumbent)
Nevada County Clerk / Registrar (Gregory J. Diaz, incumbent)
Nevada County District Attorney (Jesse Wilson, Appointed Holder)
Nevada County Sheriff / Coroner / AP (Shannan Moon, incumbent)
Nevada County School Superintendent (Scott W. Lay, incumbent)
Nevada County Treasurer / Tax Collector (Tina Vernon, Incumbent)
Superintendent of Placer County Schools (Gayle Garbolino-Mojica, incumbent)

Non-partisan municipal offices

Nevada City, City Council (Duanne Strawser, incumbent)
Nevada City, City Council (Erin Minett, incumbent)
Nevada City, City Treasurer (David McKay, incumbent)

Grass Valley, City Council (Ben Aguilar, incumbent)
Grass Valley, City Council (Hilary Hodge, incumbent)

Truckee, city council (Anna Klovstad, titular)
Truckee, City Council (Holder David Polivy)
Truckee, city council (Jan Zabriskie, incumbent)

Nevada County Board of Education

Zone 1 Trustee: (Louise Bennicoff Johnson, holder)
Zone 1 Trustee: (Susan Clarabut, holder)
Chairman of the Board, Trustee Area II (Heino L. Nicolai, Holder)

Grass Valley School District

Chairman of the Board of Directors (Jeanne Michael, incumbent)
Trustee (Ms. Lisa Jarvis, holder)
Clerk of the Council (Ms Andrea Bradley, incumbent)

Clear Creek School District

Trustee (Bart Riebe, holder)
Trustee (Jerily McCormick, incumbent)

Pleasant Ridge Union School District

Trustee (Deanne Opdahl, holder)
Trustee (Angela Arroyo, holder)
Trustee (Kelly McKinley, incumbent)

Nevada City School District

Trustee (Sandy Hakala, holder)
Director (Seth Leishman, incumbent)
Trustee (Jennifer Singer, incumbent)

Twin Ridges Primary School District

Trustee (Malik Goodman, holder)
Trustee (Hilary Hulteen, holder)

Tahoe Truckee Unified School District

Zone 1 Trustee (Ms. Kim Szczurek, holder)
Zone 5 Trustee (Ms. Dianna Driller, holder)
Trustee Zone 4 (Mr. Gaylan Larson, holder)


About Author

Comments are closed.