How big is the Fallout 76 map?


When Fallout 76 was first announced, Bethesda claimed its map would be four times larger than Fallout 4’s map.

Appalachia lives up to the hype. This is a massive map with six different regions to discover and explore.

youtube cover

Each area has its own setting, including dangerous wildlife and available challenges. All of this is spread over an area of ​​approximately 16 square miles, which can be compared to the actual size of South Los Angeles.

Fallout 76 currently has the fourth largest map in the franchise

A preview of the full Fallout 76 map (Image via Bethesda)
A preview of the full Fallout 76 map (Image via Bethesda)

The Fallout series has always had great maps, and Fallout 76 barely cracks the top five, taking fourth place. Fallout 1, Fallout 2, and Fallout Tactics all have much larger maps.

The first multiplayer game in the series was meant to take things to a different level than its predecessors. While the map might not be the biggest the franchise has ever seen, it certainly has the most to do.

Based in West Virginia, players can visit real-life locations such as Watoga, Morgantown, and Point Pleasant. The latter houses the original views of the famous cryptid, Mothman.

The game was set in 2102 as a prequel to the franchise’s other entries. The United States was completely destroyed by nuclear bombs in 2077. Twenty-five years later, the country saw the first inhabitants of the shelter rise to the surface.

The different regions of Fallout 76

The Forest is the first region players will see in Fallout 76 (Image via Bethesda)
The Forest is the first region players will see in Fallout 76 (Image via Bethesda)

The map size in Fallout 76 is comparable to GTA 5 without its ocean taken into consideration. It’s only a few square miles short of being the same size, but players can imagine how many areas Bethesda was able to fit in.

There are six regions in total that players can visit in the game. Within these regions are other specific locations and points of interest. This gives each region its own unique style with NPCs, enemies, and more.

Here are all the regions and a brief description of them:

  • pile of ashes: Ash Heap was once a mining operation which turned the surrounding area into a hostile environment. Players should watch out for toxic air and polluted water sources here.
  • Cranberry bog: This region takes its name from the “cranberry red” flora of the region. It’s filled with dangerous creatures and places, so many Appalachian survivors avoid it altogether.
  • The forest: The Forest is the first region players explore after leaving the Vault. It has forests on rugged terrain, diverse wildlife and multiple rivers. It is one of the least populated areas in the game.
  • Mud: Once a remote and rural area, Mire is now a swamp filled with mutated vines, tall grass and some of the ugliest creatures in Fallout 76. The place is usually foggy but faces radioactive storms of weather in time.
  • Wild Division: Savage Divide is an extremely difficult mountainous place to cross. It essentially creates a large barrier between the east and west sides of Appalachia and provides shelter for raiders.
  • toxic valley: This place is covered in white powder and every water source is completely disgusting. They are home to mutated aquatic beasts that often confuse visitors to many of its tourist traps.

These six regions are where players will complete quests, meet allies, defeat enemies, and learn about the lore that Appalachia has to offer.

Edited by Rachel Syiemlieh

Profile Picture


About Author

Comments are closed.